Ireland travel: The 22 countries likely to be approved for travel come July 19

All countries eligible for implementing the European Digital Covid Certificate are now technically ready to connect to the EUDCC gateway.

Last week The Irish Mirror reported that out of the 31 countries eligible to use the Covid Digital Cert, sixteen had already begun issuing it to citizens.

At the time, Malta and Hungary were the only two still in the test phase of connecting to the EU Digital Covid Certificate. Now, all 31 countries are technically ready to start implementing the scheme.

So far, 22 countries are in the process of issuing digital certificates to citizens.

The countries that are already issuing the EUDCC are:

  • Austria

  • Belgium

  • Bulgaria

  • Croatia

  • Cyprus

  • Czechia

  • Denmark

  • Estonia

  • Finland

  • France

  • Germany

  • Greece

  • Italy

  • Latvia

  • Lithuania

  • Luxembourg

  • Poland

  • Portugal

  • Slovakia

  • Slovenia

  • Spain

  • Liechtenstein

  • Iceland

  • Norway

A corona passport with a QR code on a mobile phone at Rotterdam the Hague airport, Netherlands on June 9, 2021. With a corona passport (digital Covid-19 certificate), the EU wants to make free travel between member states easier. With the ‘Digital Green Pass’ you can show that you have been vaccinated, recently tested negative or already recovered from corona. More and more countries are going yellow for the holidays. Photo by Robin Utrecht/ABACAPRESS.COM

Does this mean these are the only countries I can visit?

Not necessarily. Since Irish travel is only opening up on July 19, more countries will probably be using the EUDCC by then.

Most countries will start accepting the EU Digital Covid Cert by July 1.

Ireland, Hungary, The Netherlands, Romania and Sweden still haven’t implemented the EUDCC yet.

Ireland, for example, hasn’t put the digital cert in place but has a date set for July 19 for it to be implemented.

Hungary, however, has closed its borders to foreign nationals for an indefinite period due to the Covid-19 pandemic. Only Hungarian nationals, non-Hungarian nationals who are permanently resident in Hungary or non-Hungarian nationals who have permission to remain longer than 90 days, are allowed entry into the country.

But for other countries, there are other ways to travel without the EUDCC.

The Netherlands haven’t put the digital cert in place yet. However, travellers can enter the country by filling out a health declaration form. And if you’re travelling from a country where the risk of contracting COVID-19 is low you do not need to show a negative test at all.

The rules for entering Sweden and Romania are similar.

The entry requirements for each EU country can be found here .

The updated Covid EUDCC gateway map from the European Commission

Countries outside of the EUDCC gateway:

If you are planning to travel further afield, the following countries are still on the list for mandatory hotel quarantine once you return to Ireland.



  • Afghanistan

  • Bahrain

  • Bangladesh

  • India

  • Indonesia

  • Kuwait

  • Kyrgyzstan

  • Maldives

  • Mongolia

  • Myanmar

  • Nepal

  • Oman

  • Pakistan

  • Qatar

  • Sri Lanka

  • The Philippines

  • United Arab Emirates


North America

  • Costa Rica

  • Dominican Republic

  • Haiti

  • Panama

South America

  • Argentina

  • Bolivia

  • Brazil

  • Chile

  • Colombia

  • Ecuador

  • French Guiana

  • Guyana

  • Paraguay

  • Peru

  • Suriname

  • Trinidad and Tobago

  • Uruguay

  • Venezuela

29/03/2021 Defence Forces personnel reflected in an airport window awaiting flights to escort passengers to their mandatory hotel quarantine at Dublin Airport

Full Government advice for travelling outside Europe can be found here .

Read More
Read More

Originally Appeared Here